NESCAFÉ Original

The unmistakeable full-flavour is what makes it the Nation's favourite coffee.

  • nescafe original
  • nescafe original
bean-leaf
coffee beans falling into glass
  • Made from
    Made from

    Carefully roasted selected Arabica and Robusta coffee beans.

  • Good to know
    Good to know

    Medium-dark roasted coffee beans and advanced double-filter technology give every mug a rich, full flavour.

  • Grow In
    Grown in

    High quality and sustainably sourced from countries like Colombia, Brazil, Honduras, Vietnam and Indonesia.

#Original

Start your day with NESCAFÉ Original instant coffee...

The full-flavoured taste of NESCAFÉ Original makes a great addition to any morning, whatever the day ahead has in store. To make our signature NESCAFÉ instant coffee blend, we carefully roast selected Robusta and Arabica beans, before turning them into the distinctive instant coffee you know and love. Our medium-dark roasted coffee beans and advanced double-filter technology, give every mug of NESCAFÉ Original a rich, full flavour.

No matter what you have planned, grab a mug and begin your day with the delicious taste of NESCAFÉ Original - the Nation's favourite coffee*.

Life can be hectic, and there is nothing more important than starting each day off on the right foot. So grab a mug, and begin your day with the delicious taste of NESCAFÉ Original instant coffee. There's nothing like sitting back and savouring a fantastic coffee, and the rich aroma and full flavour of NESCAFÉ Original make it great for all morning occasions. Why not make the distinctive blend of the Nation's favourite coffee* the drink you enjoy every morning?

*IRI MAT Volumes Sales, w/e 1 December 2018

 

It All Starts With a NESCAFÉ

NESCAFÉ is the world's favourite coffee brand, enjoyed in over 180 countries worldwide. With over 80 years of experience in selecting, roasting and blending the very best coffee, it's no surprise that over 5,500 cups of NESCAFÉ coffee are drunk every second! Discover all the different kinds of coffee beans and the various ways to roast them

 

The NESCAFÉ Plan

Did you know? As part of the NESCAFÉ Plan, we work directly with farmers and provide them with training and local assistance. Find out more about the NESCAFÉ Plan.

Why not explore the rest of the NESCAFÉ Original family? Top up your coffee jar with NESCAFÉ Original Refill; discover a convenient coffee solution with NESCAFÉ Original 3in1 and enjoy a great decaff coffee, with NESCAFÉ Original Decaff.

Add NESCAFÉ Original to your preferred retailer basket for your next online shop.

 

  • Morning
    Life can be hectic, and there is nothing more important than starting each day off on the right foot.
  • Grown respectfully
    Responsibly grown coffee through sustainable farming practices.
  • Good to know
    NESCAFÉ is the world's favourite coffee brand, enjoyed in over 180 countries worldwide.
nescafe red coffee mugs

Fact & Figures

Typical Values Per 100g Per 100ml Per mug** % RI*
Energy kJ 484 4 9  
Energy kcal 118 1 2 <1%
Fat g 0.2 Nil Trace <1%
of which saturates g 0.2 Nil Trace <1%
Carbohydrate g 3.1 Trace 0.1 <1%
of which sugars g 3.1 Trace 0.1 <1%
Fibre g 34.1 0.3 0.6 -
Protein g 7.8 0.1 0.1 <1%
Salt g 0.25 Nil Trace <1%
  • *Reference Intake of an average adult (8400kJ/2000kcal)
  • **One mug (one tsp (1.8g) + 200ml water); used as basis for per 100ml

Per Portion

Each mug contains:

  • Energy

    9kJ

    2kcal

    <1%

  • Fat

    Trace

    <1%

  • Saturates

    Trace

    <1%

  • Sugars

    0.1g

    <1%

  • Salt

    Trace

    <1%

of an adult's Reference Intake (RI)*

Energy per 100ml: 4kJ/1kcal

*Reference Intake of an average adult (8400kJ/2000kcal)

COFFEE FOR EVERY EXPERIENCE

From NESCAFÉ Original to our NESCAFÉ GOLD Frothy Coffees to NESCAFÉ AZERA Nitro, we've created coffees for all tastes and occasions.

nescafe original refill

Rich and Full-bodied

NESCAFÉ Original Refill

The unmistakeable full-flavour is what makes it the Nation's favourite coffee.

View product
nescafe original decaff

Rich and Full-bodied

NESCAFÉ Original Decaff

Enjoy its great full-flavoured taste, whenever you fancy a break.

View product
nescafe original 2in1

Rich and Milky

NESCAFÉ Original 2in1

All the ingredients at hand to make a rich white cup of coffee.

View product
NESCAFÉ Original is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1441.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1441
  • loc_en_GB, sid_5345a1a9-0d19-4fca-aaae-bf7f6c72efdd, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nescafe
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 6.47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Confusing name Good grief. My wife and I spent two days to figure out if this was a 'Filter Coffee's powder or instant coffee. The contents sit somewhere in between in terms of visual appearance and don't help. And there is nothing on the package to suggest this is an instant coffee. Packaging fail !
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back the original Couldn't believe how Nescafe have ruined a once great taste... the red lid jars are so disappointing. I will not purchase again unless they bring back the real original with black/brown lid, which was wonderful!
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from headache The new improved flavour gives me headache - i would like to know what is new ingredient so i can avoid - please bring the old one back
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My must have I’ve drank Nescafé original for as long as I can remember ,, I take it every where I go ,,I couldn’t start my day with out it ,,thanks Nescafé for keeping it so original ,,I’m wowed by all your other flavours you offer never knew they exsisted till visiting this page ,, never realy look on the coffee isle I always know what want I want look forward to trying them
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I bought this today and got a free mug great value
Date published: 2018-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection in each jar A long time fan of original Nescafé - it’s seen me through all my stages in life and has never disappointed me. People say I make great coffee - I can’t take the credit really!!! It’s not Nescafé it’s Bestcafe!!! Why change perfection?
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the original taste What has Nescafe done to what was once a great coffee. It is horrible now,taste cheap.I have changed brands on coffee since Nescafe changed to a red lid and its contents in the jar.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It Never really drank much Nescafé with the brown lid always Gold Blend or Alta Rica, so when I saw red lid in the supermarket I thought it was a new blend the company had come up with as well as the brown lid just didn’t think any different, then I started reading the reviews and also some newspaper articles about how the Nescafé brown lid had changed, how foul smelling it was, how disgusting it tastes so I was really wary about using the coffee, yes it has changed it’s brilliant coffee, very smooth with a really nice coffee kick, so after drinking just two cups I have now stocked up on red lid and I am sticking with it, actually prefer it to Gold Blend (no offence Nescafé, but Red Lid is sooooo good), everyone has different tastes we are all individuals, but I would say to anyone reading this review, definitely give it a try don’t be put off by reviews like I nearly was, because I would have missed out on a really nice coffee if I allowed myself to be put off
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst coffee I've tasted 3rd attempt at a negative review, the moderators are keen. I bought this thinking that it was the original I've been drinking for years, only to find out it tastes foul. I assumed that the product name "original" meant I was getting the same stuff. How wrong could I be? Why call it original, when it obviously isn't? It's been changed - so it's not original. I'm drinking tea now whilst I find a better alternative. I've got a couple of unopened jars in the cupboard that'll end up in the bin unless I find the receipt. Give yourself a pat on the back for losing another customer. No surprise this has a rating of 4.5 out of 5 when you can't criticise.
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from revolting taste hated the new original red top coffee so have been looking for suggestions for an alternative - think i may have found it, try douwe egberts pure gold medium roast. it's been too long since i had the real brown top but i think this is as good as nescafe used to be. am trying to give my red top stores away as raffle prizes but am having problems as people not happy to choose them.
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from vile & nasty i am 26 years old i start drinking nescafe original when i was 11 year old, i big fan with, since you bring in new quality about 2 years now it is vile & nasty i won't buy it again. so bring back Nescafe Original.........
Date published: 2018-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nescafe "Not" Original Been struggling for the last few months with the new flavor Nescafe original but its not, it has changed and is now an awful taste. Searching shops for the old brown lid, looks like we going to have to change brand,
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I have drunk Nescafé for years but whatever has been done to it and why? It makes me cough and I suspect it is the cause of a previously dormant skin rash on my hands. The so called mild white topped coffee tastes disgusting.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from YUK We have been enjoying Nescafe Original for years, but this stuff is revolting. Bitter taste and doesnt even taste like coffee. This can stay on the shelf where it belongs, i'll be looking around for something with better taste than this muck.
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One word..................disgusting I brought this several months ago and its disgusting, the smell, the taste, thankful other places still sell the brown lid version, once i cant find the brown lid version, ill try another make. The red lid is not the same as the original brown one use to be,wake up nestle you are losing sales.
Date published: 2018-07-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nescafe Original has lost its originality I want the original Nescafe back. This cheap rubbish imported from China is disgusting. Its very misleading to customers to call it original. You should reimburse one and all
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO Substitute Nescafe Original , It's got a great kick to it. Loved it for over 10 years. Nothing out there tastes like this , Strong And Great Tasting. It's the Best out there !
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from new original double filter tastes awful even tried mixing it with non double filtered original still awful threw it out with rest of rubbish
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You need to sack your taste testers I've drunk Nescafe original for most of my life and so over 40 years. Other makes have come and gone but I've always gone back to Nescafe which to me was THE taste of coffee. Maybe the recipe has been tweaked before over the years, but it was still great. However the new recipe is a tragedy. How anyone could like it more or even as much is beyond me, and whoever made the decision must be a double agent planted by your competition and should be out of a job. So I'm sad to say you've lost one life-long customer here and I won't return until the flavour does.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I'd gone off Nescafe Original during the last few years, but I tried the new version (with the red lid) and was amazed at how much better it is. I absolutely LOVE the new and improved version. Please don't ever change it again - it is PERFECT!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ruined!! 35 years of the same great flavour and they have ruined it. It's like dishwater now. No wonder Waitrose dropped it from their shelves.
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nescafe Redtop What has happened to the lovely original coffee? It is now: bitter, undrinkable, and leaves a sour aftertaste. No-one in my family will drink it anymore, I've had to change brands, and we have all been drinking it for years. I will never buy it again. If I could leave a minus on the stars then I certainly would.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from true taste of a good coffee I buy this all the time, its a great reliable taste which always hits the spot
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nescafe Original This is about Nescafe Original (Red Lid) in general. I am just finishing my last jar of Nescafe Original (Brown Lid) - I had no idea until a few days ago that it was no longer available and had been replaced by the inferior Red Lid one. Why you have changed the recipe I have no idea, the Brown lid recipe was the taste of Nescafe that I and many more love. I have read some replies to reviews left about the Red Lid product and your replies keep saying that the bitter compounds of the original recipe have been removed. Lots of us didn't want it removed. We enjoyed the taste. Why are we less important than those that did want it removed? You could have just brought out a separate product in addition to keeping the much loved Brown Lid recipe. I will no longer purchase any Nescafe Coffee.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back original Why change ,and call it original when it’s not,had been drinking Nescafé original for years .Now got to look for another coffee brand.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Recycling the packaging There is a recycling symbol on the back but no information about how or where to recycle the empty packaging
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful, what have you done? You've added "New" to it, and yes you can taste the difference, it's like drinking slightly flavoured hot water (at 2 teaspoons) I just bought one of your Gold instants if that turns out to be "New" as well then I won't be buying any more.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wake me up In the morning it wakes me up afternoon a little upper and after work a chill out in front of tv. love it.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RED LID Disgusting. It is bland! Bring back the brown lid version
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oh Yuck ! Been drinking Nescafe Original for years and no other brand but the new recipe is disgusting .I shall now be trying out other brands and definitely will not buy Nescafe Original again ....Original means original
Date published: 2018-01-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1441
  • loc_en_GB, sid_5345a1a9-0d19-4fca-aaae-bf7f6c72efdd, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nescafe
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5.19ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT